Vajrayana Buddhism – New Form of Buddhism

Vajrayana Buddhism is once the different form of Buddhism tradition that had huge influence in most of the Buddhist countries i.e. Theravada and Mahayana Buddhism.  Many Buddhist devouts know Vajrayana tradition as Tantric Buddhism which is believed to be originated in India. Besides Tantric Buddhism, Vajrayana Buddhism is also popularly known as Esoteric Buddhism, Diamond Way or Thunderbolt way. Vajrayana Buddhist tradition is the evolved form of Buddhism after centuries of multifaceting the Buddhist cultures that existed during those times. According to Vajrayana Buddhist tradition, Vajrayana refers to the third vehicles that lead to the path of Enlightenment.

The sole purpose of Vajrayana Buddhist tradition may seems quite different from other different Buddhist tradition. The main or highest goal that one needs to attained through Vajrayana tradition is to successfully become the Bodhisattva. Theravada Buddhism as well as Mahayana Buddhism teaches the Buddhist followers and Buddhist monks to attained Nirvana or Enlightenment even though the methods are different. The tantric methods and techniques used in Vajrayana Buddhism is to experience the highest goal of attaining Bodhisattva and ultimate truth.

Three Vows of Vajrayana Buddhism

Every Vajrayana Buddhist practitioners must abide by three different vows in order to become the part of vajrayana tradition.

“Who Keep on with a root downfall, who are miserly with Dharma,
And who engage in actions that should be forsaken.
Those Who Worship them go to hell and so on as a result.”

All the Buddhist followers whether they are newly ordained monks or Guru as well as teachers of Vajrayana Buddhism. These vows are the integral part of tradition which helps in the motivation of to help for the sake of other sentient beings to help them end their pain as well suffering.

Some basic Tantric Techniques in Vajrayana Buddhism

Fourfold Division

  1. Kriyayoga (Action Tantra)
  2. Charyayoga (Performance Tantra)
  3. Yogatantra (Yoga Tantra)
  4. Anuttarayogatantra (Highest Yoga Tantra)

The first three tantras are categorized as outer tantras and the last tantra is called as Inner tantras.

Four Purities

  • See one’s body as deity body
  • See one’s environment as Deity mandala
  • Perceive One’s enjoyment as Deity bliss
  • Perform One’s action for the sole benefits of others

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s